If We Accept It, Peace Will Come

Over the years, my parents often tell me about the origins of what I know. Things like, why I call the remote control a “clicker”.  This reminds me of the way that I am now opening myself up to the idea of humanism. Humanism has been a theme throughout my experience at OES through the liberal arts emphasis in the teaching, to trying to discover why we do the things that we do as humans. These points seem, to me, to be the main ideas of humanism- to learn and be open to new styles of learning and that this learning is in pursuit of knowledge of the nature of humans. For me, a humanistic view on the world is healthy and if we could adapt it, humans could grow more cross-culture respect.

Sierra Wagner, a girl just a few years older than me, talked to me about her views of what humanism is and how it’s applied in our society. According to Sierra,

“Our government and schools and relationships with people are directly impacted by the role of humanism that the western society was brought up with.”

She explained to me that this is being shown in America because people aren’t judged by religion or race really anymore. Rather, we as people are judged by an unspoken code of ethics that are expected of humans based on our past, present and our hopes for the future.

Like Sierra began saying, by taking ourselves out of our personal views and instead viewing the world from a human-to-human standard, we can open ourselves up to others with ease and perhaps the world can become ever more understanding.  Growing up in what I view as a humanistic school, I feel secure and safe in the community because I know that my ideas will not be judged because we have been raised to respect the opinions of others. Not only that, but as McKay quotes in European society in the age of the renaissance, the ruler of Carrara stated that

“the education of children is a matter of more than private interest; it concerns the state.”

This value of education and the point he makes that it concerns all of us has been a theme throughout my education. The “we are the future” attitude embraced by the OES community puts in place that I can become a modern day renaissance man and do whatever I set my mind to.

Overall, I fully support the humanist view on life. Though I’m a Christian, I still appreciate a lot of the values that humanism brings to the table. There is nothing wrong with accepting who we are as the human race: Our flaws, our strengths, why we think what we do, and acknowledging that which we don’t know. By taking ourselves out of our lives and thinking about others for once and really making an effort to understand where people are coming from, I think if the world took a humanistic view on life, we could be a happier people.

 

 

 

Sources:

Sierra Wagner, Senior at OES

 

McKay, John P. “European society in the age of the renaissance.” History of Western Society. B. (2008): n. page. Print.

Picture: http://iloverecovery.com/2010/09/30/mix-ing/people-holding-hands/

About georgialeeann

HEY IM JUS HERE TO LEARN ABOUT US HISTORY YALLL

13 comments

  1. brianthemathematician

    Hey Georgia, I really liked your post; it was fun to read! Do you believe that the world will “take a humanistic view on life” soon, or do you believe that we will have to wait a long time, or possibly forever, for this to come to be true?

    –Brian

    • georgialeeann

      Brian-
      Thanks for taking the time to read my post! I believe that we have a lot of obstacles to overcome to live in a world with a humanistic view on life. So many people out there seem to completely shut out any opposing opinion to theirs and it really makes the progression in working together towards peace go backwards. To answer your question, no I believe it will take a long time for the world to be open to this view but I really hope it can one day become reality.
      Thanks again!
      -Georgia

  2. natalie518

    Hi Georgia, nice job on your blog post! I really like how you say that if people adopted a more humanist view, we “could grow more cross-culture respect.” I think that intercultural understanding is very important in today’s society, and something that OES certainly values (like it says in the mission statement). Just to clarify, are you saying that the U.S. embodies the ideals of humanism (since we are “judged by an unspoken code of ethics”) and that you think the rest of the world would be a better place if it followed suit? Also, do you think that this idea of appreciating “Our flaws, our strengths, why we think what we do, and acknowledging that which we don’t know” has some correlation with the ideals of Christianity?
    Again, great job!
    ~Natalie

    • georgialeeann

      Thanks for the thoughtful comment, Natalie. Now that I look back on my writing, I look a bit biased in relation to my comment about our government adopting a humanistic view. I feel like most countries strive for that and there are many groups of people around the world who are open to others I was just saying that in our country I appreciate our attempt at being open to other ideas and that I’d like this attempt to be a worldwide movement towards peace and understanding. Taking down the barriers of opinion and thinking from a purely human-to-human view (no Gods, no cultural history, etc…) is an important step in bonding and respecting each other. As for the Christian relation, sure I believe accepting ourselves as imperfect and acknowledging that we aren’t omniscient beings is a big part of surrendering ourselves to God which may relate to humanism because becoming vulnerable is the key to connecting and understanding each other.
      Thanks so much for reading my post!
      -Georgia

  3. jinny0905

    Hi Georgia, I really enjoyed your blog post! It was easy to read and I loved how you could talk about humanism by giving OES as an example. I did not really get the state from ruler of Carrara, “the education of children is a matter of more than private interest; it concerns the state.” What did he mean by that?
    -Jinny

    • georgialeeann

      Jinny-
      I’m so glad you enjoyed my post! As I mentioned in my blogpost, OES takes our education seriously because they recognize that we are the future scientists, mathematicians, historians, etc. of our world. I believe that the ruler of Carrara was trying to get that same point across- that the adults of today must put it upon themselves to teach our generation because it is a matter that regards everyone because we will be the ones in charge in just a few years. He was saying that even though it seems like education is for the sake of children, it’s really for everyone. For example, if no one cared about our education, none of us could get jobs or be smart about decisions in the future and thus, society would basically just collapse. Thanks for reading my post I hope that answers your question.
      -Georgia

  4. sydney013868

    Hi Georgia! Nice post! I enjoyed reading about how humans should accept themselves for who they are and not for what other people think. Do you think other countries will catch on to this mentality, such as the Asian countries like South Korea? I personally know that my cousins are very self-conscious because their society is completely based on what others think of them. After all, it is possible for their family to disown them, but in the U.S., it isn’t even a thought.

    -Sydney

    • georgialeeann

      Sydney-
      Thanks for the thought provoking response! I think that in so many countries it is really difficult to overcome some of the ideals that have been put in place for hundreds of years that stop some nations from understanding and accepting other nations. However, as we have seen time and time again in America’s history, even the most historic of values can be abolished if there is a want and a need to and there is support nationally. For your cousins, and other people like them, whose lives are ruled by harsh social standards and expectations, I hope that the world can come together to try to understand one another and accept each other as humans.
      Thanks again
      -Georgia

  5. abbie95

    Hey Georgia! I really enjoyed reading your post. I can definitely relate to your points about how humanism has been a theme in your life through OES by how they teach and focus on each student and their individual futures and success. I do believe that our community has a relatively humanistic view on life, as you stated in your post. However, I personally find it hard to believe that the world as a whole can adapt to a humanist mindset. Do you believe there is any way to promote a humanistic view to society as a whole or is this just the ideal lifestyle that will remain a fantasy?

    • georgialeeann

      Abbie-
      Thanks for the reply! I figured you might be able to relate to my view as you have also been essentially bred to accept everyone around us. I believe that it could be possible if a real movement was to begin. This would include the education of humanism around the world- which may be difficult because of how some societies are built today- and also to bring a really distinct idea of what a humanistic world might look like instead of a vague idea like “Oh peace would be nice, we just need to understand one another more”. A word as specific as humanism would create a more graspable idea or goal to achieve worldwide. For now, this is a fantasy but if we worked hard enough, it could one day be a reality.
      -Georgia

  6. zach2342

    Hey Georgia, I really enjoyed your post on humanism. I liked the way you started off your piece with something about yourself and connected it to humanism. I liked the way you tied in OES and how they have developed your thoughts on humanism. Great job, thanks for posting this.

    • georgialeeann

      Hey Zach, thanks for taking the time to read my post! I appreciate your response regarding what was good about my post. I really wanted to focus this around my experience at OES because I believe I’ve always had some vague grasp of what humanism is, even without knowledge of the actual word for it, just because OES has raised me with the general concepts. Thanks again!
      -Georgia

  7. morgigglez

    Hi Georgia!
    Your blog post is very interesting! I like how you related the text and blog post to your own personal experiences and life. You seem to have a very nice and full understanding of the concepts of humanism. I was wondering if you agreed with education being a main and important value in life-not only in humanism?
    -Morgan

Leave a Reply

